Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CSUMB Online Library

Online Resources & Services at CSUMB Library

Find it online

The CSUMB Library has millions of information resources available online, including ebooks, journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles, streaming videos, and more. You can access these via:

We are still processing Interlibrary Loan requests for items that CSUMB Library does not own and will do our best to fulfill these.

We are also checking out wifi hotspots and laptops.

How to get a hotspot   |   How to get a laptop

Questions about wifi hotspot connectivity, use or general questions should be directed to the IT Help 831-582-4357 (HELP)

CSUMB Library's ebooks, journals, videos & more

OneSearch - ebooks, journal articles, streaming video, etc.

Never used OneSearch before? The video below shows you how.

This video includes instructions for locating electronic & physical items. Due to COVID-19, physical items are currently unavailable.

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Databases - find articles & more in these databases

The video below shows how to select & search a database. The selection process works for other databases, too.

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________

EBooks - ebook collections or use OneSearch

Never looked for ebooks in OneSearch before? The video below shows you how.

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Videos - find streaming video titles

You can also use OneSearch to find video.

  • Put your search terms in the box and search in "Books & Media (CSUMB)" 
  • Select "Audio Visual" as the format on the filters to the left of the results list

Temporarily available databases

Temporarily Available ​Databases 

Social Explorer contains demography, economy, health, politics, environment, and crime data. Users can interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and more. It is available until June 30, 2021.

ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database - About the database

Library instruction

Checking out, returning, and suggesting books

Borrowing library materials

Use OneSearch (located on the library home page) to find the item you want to borrow.
Sign in to OneSearch (use the sign in link at the upper right of the OneSearch screen).
Request the item. Indicate the pickup location.
The library will send a notice with instructions when your item is ready.
Questions? See detailed instructions or Ask a Librarian!

*The library is currently using a locker system instead of curbside pickup. The lockers are located right next to the book drop on the outside of the library building nearest Divarty St.

Returning library materials

Do you have library materials to return, either ours or interlibrary loan? There are different ways you can return items to the CSUMB library. 

  • You can drop it off at the book drop located on the side of the library building nearest Divarty St.
  • You can mail it to the library using USPS Media Mail (books, dvds, videos) or standard mail (wifi hotspots, laptops). When returning hotspot units via mail the box the unit arrived in it must be in a separate envelope. The unit box must be free of labels, tags, or hand written notes. The information on the outside of the box cannot be covered with postal or return address mailing information. The library mailing address is:

CSUMB Library
Attn: Circulation
100 Campus Center
Seaside, CA 93955

  • You can drop it off at the nearest CSU library (not an option for borrowed laptops or wifi hotspots).
  • No overdue fees are being charged at the present time.

Returning library laptops

Before returning your laptop, remember to reset it following these instructions: https://csumb.teamdynamix.com/TDClient/1846/Portal/KB/ArticleDet?ID=126542  

In person

  • Please schedule an appointment here: https://csumb.bookedscheduler.com/Web (on your reservation appointment title enter "Returning Library Laptop") There are reserved spaces in Lot 19 adjacent to the Chapman Science Building (entrance is via Lot 13 on 6th Ave). Follow the posted directional signs into the parking lot. Once parked, please call 831-582-4448 for further instructions.

By mail

  • You can mail it to the library using  standard mail. When returning a laptop unit via mail the box the unit arrived in it must be in a separate envelope. The unit box must be free of labels, tags, or hand written notes. The information on the outside of the box cannot be covered with postal or return address mailing information. The library mailing address is:

CSUMB Library
Attn: Circulation
100 Campus Center
Seaside, CA 93955 

Returning library hotspots

  • You can drop it off at the book drop located on the side of the library building nearest Divarty St.
  • You can mail it to the library using  standard mail. When returning a hotspot unit via mail the box the unit arrived in it must be in a separate envelope. The unit box must be free of labels, tags, or hand written notes. The information on the outside of the box cannot be covered with postal or return address mailing information. The library mailing address is:

CSUMB Library
Attn: Circulation
100 Campus Center
Seaside, CA 93955

  • No overdue fees are being charged at the present time.

Suggesting book purchases:

The CSUMB Library welcomes your ideas on materials you'd like to see added to our collections. We will consider all suggestions as the budget allows. Use the Suggest a Book Purchase form to request materials (book or other media) not already owned by CSUMB Library or available through CSU+ that you need for your research and/or academic instruction support.