Before you start searching:
Make sure that your concept table is in order, with no irrelevant terms, no typos, and all the necessary quotation marks, parentheses, and ORs.
For example: "postsecondary education" OR colleges OR universities OR "higher education" OR "state universities"
The search process:
What you'll do in each database is search for each of your main concepts, one at a time, and then join these searches together.
You'll search for your keywords in the abstract field only (or title and abstract, if the database has that option), because we only want our search to include sources for which these terms are central to the main topic, not just mentioned tangentially in the full text.
The controlled vocabulary you've identified will be searched in the specific field that each database has for controlled vocabulary. This may be called "subjects," "subject headings," "exact subjects," "descriptors," or, for health databases, "MeSH."
Please note: The EBSCO database interface has changed since this video was made, but the screenshots below should help you find things in the new interface.
Also note: You will have to create a free MyEBSCO account to save or download your search results. It is recommended that you do this step before you begin searching (this is essential if you are doing a systematic review or other evidence synthesis method).
Step 1: Search for your first main concept
When you go into the Advanced Search of your database, you'll paste the keyword string from your concept table in the top box, and select the option to search title and abstracts (if this isn't an option, just search abstracts). Make sure that there's an OR selected between the first two search boxes. In the second box, paste your controlled vocabulary string (make sure you're on the tab in your concept table for the database you're currently searching), and select the option to search subjects. If there's an option to search subjects and another to search exact subjects, pick the exact subjects.
Step 2: Search for your second main concept and use search history to combine concepts 1 & 2
Follow the above instructions for your second main concept. Then click the "recent activity" link in the left-hand navigation to see those two searches. Make sure there isn't anything in your search history that's not your final searches (e.g. any searches you did to identify controlled vocabulary should be deleted). Your history should show a search for each of your first two main concepts.
You will now clear the search box at the top of the page. Then select those first two searches from your history (using checkboxes). Click the merging arrow symbol by the "number of searches" text, and select "combine with AND":
Now "(S1 AND S2)" should appear in the search bar at the top of the page. Click the magnifying glass icon to perform the search. If you click back into "recent activity," you will see that you now have a "search 3" (S3) which is search one and search two together.
Step 3: Search for your third main concept and combine with previous main concepts
Follow the above instructions to search for your third main concept (click "new search" if you need to get back to the advanced search screen). Once you search for your third main concept, it will appear as "S4." (S3 remember, is the combination of S1 and S2.) Now clear your search boxes, select the checkboxes for S3 and S4, and click "search with AND." Now you have an S5, which is the combination of your first three main concepts.
Step 4: If you have a fourth main concept, search for it and combine with your previous searches
Follow the instructions above to search for your fourth main concept, which will be S6, and combine it with your three previous concepts (S5). This creates a final search, S7, that combines all four of the main concepts.
Step 5: Apply limits and filters
Click on the link beside your final search (this might say "S3 AND S4" or "S5 AND S6") to view the final search that combines all of your main concepts. Under the search bar at the top of the page, select the "peer reviewed" box if you would like to limit your search to articles from peer reviewed journals.
Select the "all filters" box, and check any other filters you would like to apply (date, language etc.). A new search shows up in your history when each limiter is applied.
Step 6: Save your search history (optional)
If transparency is one of your objectives (for a systematic review, for example), you may want to save your search history. From the "recent activity" screen, check the box at the top of your list of searches to select all of your searches (make sure it only includes your searches from the current database). Click the "download" icon that pops up.
Download the results in your preferred format.
Step 7: Export your results as an RIS file (evidence synthesis method only)
If you are performing a systematic review or other type of evidence synthesis method, you will want to download your results as an RIS file. View your results and click the down arrow by the number of results to select "export results: up to 25,000."
You will have to sign in to an EBSCO account to export. Then enter your email and select RIS format. It may take a few minutes, but you will receive an email to download your file.
If clicking on the link in your email doesn't work, try copy/pasting it into your browser's URL/address bar. Name your downloaded file with the database it came from, so you don't get them mixed up. The file name can also include the date of the search and number of results. For example: ERIC_Jun28_21results.ris
Note: ProQuest databases tend to time out more quickly than others, so you should consider creating a free "My Research Account" so that you can save searches there and not worry about them getting deleted if your search times out. (See option under profile icon.)
Step 1: Search for your first main concept
When you go into the Advanced Search of your database, you'll paste the keyword string from your concept table in the top box, and select the option to search abstracts. Make sure that there's an OR selected between the first two search boxes. In the second box, paste your controlled vocabulary string (make sure you're on the tab in your concept table for the database you're currently searching), and select the option to search subjects. This might be called "subject headings - MAINSUBJECT."
If there's an option to search subjects and another to search exact subjects, pick the exact subjects.
Step 2: Search for your second main concept and use search history to combine concepts 1 & 2
Follow the above instructions for your second main concept. Then click "recent searches" in your database to see those two searches. Make sure there isn't anything in your search history that's not your final searches (delete it if there is). Your history should show a search for each of your first two main concepts.
You will now type "[S1] AND [S2]" into the search box. This combines your searches on your first two main concepts into a third search (S3).
Now you have a "search 3" (S3) which is search one and search two together.
Step 3: Search for your third main concept and combine with previous main concepts
Follow the above instructions to search for your third main concept. You'll have to return to the advanced search screen for your database to enter the search terms. Once you search for your third main concept, it will appear as "S4." (S3 remember, is the combination of S1 and S2.) Now type into the search box "[S3] AND [S4]" and search.
Now you have an S5, which is the combination of your first three main concepts.
Step 4: If you have a fourth main concept, search for it and combine with your previous searches
Follow the instructions above to search for your fourth main concept, which will be S6, and combine it with your three previous concepts (S5). This creates a final search, S7, that combines all four of the main concepts.
Step 5: Apply limits and filters
To see your results, click the number of results for the final search that combines all of your main concepts. Under "limit to" in the left navigation, select "peer reviewed" (if desired) and any additional limits or filters (e.g. date, language).
Step 6: Print/Save your search history (optional)
If transparency is one of your objectives (for a systematic review, for example), you may want to save your search history. From the "recent searches" screen, use the "export all searches" option to save this search as a PDF.
Step 7: Export your results as an RIS file (evidence synthesis methods only)
If you are performing a systematic review or other type of evidence synthesis method, you will want to download your results as an RIS file. View your results and click the "export results" link. You have to be signed in to your ProQuest "My Research" account for this option to appear.
In the popup window, select RIS format and "yes" to include abstracts.
The results are not downloaded immediately, but will be available in the Saved Searches section of My Research (you might need to refresh your screen after a few minutes). Name your downloaded file with the database it came from, so you don't get them mixed up. The file name can also include the date of the search and number of results. For example: SocAbs_Jun28_21results.ris
If that method of downloading results isn't working, or if you want your results immediately, here's another option. Select ALL of your results from ALL of the results pages. The number of items selected should match the number of results (each page, by default, only shows 20 results, but you can change it to 100 in the bottom right corner of the page). Select the ellipses icon (three dots in a circle in top right) for "all save and export options."
Under "citation export," select the circle with "RIS."
Make sure to select "RIS" and "citation, abstract, indexing, PDF link."
The file should download to your downloads folder.