Skip to Main Content 
Company history and overview
Your company's website
- Usually, the first stop in researching a company
Finding a company's 10-K
- The company's website
- Check under "Investors" or "Investor Relations" or "About"
- Search EDGAR
- Use the library database Mergent Online
- Enter a company to search
- On results, select tab labeled Filings
- One-stop company research resource
- Covers public and large private businesses
PESTEL: Political
- Free website
- Hosted by OpenSecrets.org
- Reports issued throughout the year for over 110 countries
- Annual full reports, monthly summaries
- From the Business Source Premier database
- Annual political risk yearbooks on about 100 countries
- From the library's Business Source Premier database
PESTEL: Economic
- Check "Key External Drivers" under the Industry Performance section in each report
- See the "Industry Indicators" section in each report
- From the library's ABI/INFORM Collection database
- Free website
- From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
- From the Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia
PESTEL: Social
- Key gateway to U.S. Census Bureau data
- Nonprofit, nonpartisan opinion and demographic research agency
- Free website
- Culture analysis based on six variables
PESTEL: Technological
- Check the "Technology and Systems" section in each report
- See the "Products, Operations & Technology" section within each report
- From the library's ABI/INFORM Collection database
- Free website
- An initiative of the international forum Group of Twenty (G20)
- Covers over fifty-five countries
- Free website
- From the World Bank
PESTEL: Environmental
- Industry specific environmental, social, governance standards
- Twenty-four indicators
- Covers over 175 countries
- Joint project of Yale University, Columbia University, and the World Economic Form
- Country profiles on over thirty countries
- From the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
PESTEL: Legal
- Check "Regulation and Policy" under the Operating Conditions section in each report
- Look for the "Finance & Regulation" section within each report
- From the library's ABI/INFORM Collection database
- Free website
- Provides access to Corporate Rap Sheets and Violation Tracker.
- A library database of court cases and law journal articles
- Free website
- Access to rules, data, and cases
First Research Industry Profiles
Standards Board
