LibGuides: Ethnic & Cultural Studies Research Guide: Home

Articles and databases

Articles & Databases

Ethnic Diversity Source
Ethnic Diversity Source covers culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans, Latinx Americans, Native Americans and Multiracial Americans. This database stands out for its rich array of books, journals, newspapers, primary sources, and other materials.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
JSTOR
Scholarly journal articles at least one to five years old on a wide variety of academic topics.
Latino Literature
Includes fiction, poetry and plays representing Chicano culture and the various ethnicities of Latin American writers working in the United States.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to psychology journals and various other types of psychology-related sources
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Covers social sciences, business, humanities, and sciences
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers life and physical sciences
Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work,sociology, and international relations
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences
SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window
Search for peer-reviewed journals in life and physical sciences

Video databases

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Over 68,000 videos covering a wide variety of subject areas
Indigenous Cinema
Films by indigenous directors, provided by the National Film Board of Canada

Others to consider

America: History & Life
U.S. and Canadian History.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
American Indian Histories and Cultures is a wide-ranging digital resource presenting a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. Browse through rare original documents, including: manuscripts, artwork, photographs, maps, printed materials and newspapers.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America
Access to nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, provides insight into how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's search interface for finding information of an academic or scholarly nature, both on the web and in the library's collection.
Historical Abstracts
World History.
History Vault: WWII Japanese American Incarceration
Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946.
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010)
The Los Angeles Sentinel is an African American owned and operated newspaper that puts emphasis on issues concerning the African American community and its readers.
Race Relations in America
Documenting three pivotal decades (40s, 50s, 60s) in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Race Relation’s dept at Fisk University through the eyes and work of sociologists, activists, psychologists, teachers, ministers, students and housewives.

Books

Books in the CSUMB Library

Use OneSearch to look for books on your topic.

Check here for a quick list of books on:

African Americans

Asian Americans

Hispanic Americans

Intercultural communication

Immigration

Mexican Americans

Minorities in motion pictures

Multiculturalism

Native Americans/American Indians

Pluralism

Current CSUMB Students, Staff, and Faculty are welcome to check out Course Reserve items. For more information, click here.

Search Encyclopedias

Search encyclopedias for background information

Encyclopedias about African Americans

Encyclopedias about Asian Americans

Encyclopedias about Latin Americans

Encyclopedias about Native Americans

Encyclopedias about ethnic or race relations

Search all encyclopedias

Books At Other Libraries

Recommended:

CSU OneSearch to search library catalogs of the 23 California State University campuses.

Also consider:

WorldCat to search library catalogs from around the world

CSUMB students, faculty and staff may use CSU+ Resource Sharing (a service integrated into OneSearch) for ordering books and media held at other CSUs and institutions.

Web resources

Web Resources

African Americans

Black Press USA news from African-American journalists and Black community publications

First Blacks in the Americas The African Presence in the Dominican Republic, including archival documents from CUNY's Dominican Studies Institute

The King Center the official Martin Luther King Jr. historical site; includes links to the King Papers Project, an extensive bibliography, and photographs

NAACP official site of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, the nation's oldest and largest civil rights organization

American Indians/Native Americans

American Indian and Alaska Native Resources data and links provided by the U.S. Census Bureau

Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America - Audio and video recordings of spoken languages as well as texts and other multimedia materials.

Bureau of Indian Affairs official site of the U.S. bureau responsible for the administration of federal programs for federally recognized tribes

National Congress of American Indians resources, policy, and news

National Indian Health Board news and information on health issues

National Museum of the American Indian current exhibits from this Smithsonian museum

Tribal Directory contact information and websites for federally recognized tribes from the U.S. Department of the Interior

Asian Americans

Asian & Pacific Islander American Vote national organization promoting civic participation

Council of Korean Americans

Japanese American Citizens League civil rights organization

Pacific Citizen online news for the Asian American community

The Rise of Asian Americans: Pew Research Center's study of Asian Americans

Latinx/Hispanics

HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies searchable bibliography of citations to scholarly publications about Latin America from the Library of Congress

LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center search or browse extensive collection of links to content about Latin America; provided by the University of Texas at Austin

Latinos in Twentieth Century California: National Register of Historic Places Context Statement published by CA State Parks Office of Historic Preservation, gives an overview of Latino nation building, religious and artistic life, economic contributions, and struggles for equality

Ethnic & Cultural Studies Research Guide

Articles and databases

Articles & Databases

Recommended

Video databases

Others to consider

See also

Books

Books in the CSUMB Library

Search Encyclopedias

Search encyclopedias for background information

Search all encyclopedias

Books At Other Libraries

Books At Other Libraries

Web resources

Web Resources

African Americans

Black Press USA news from African-American journalists and Black community publications

First Blacks in the Americas The African Presence in the Dominican Republic, including archival documents from CUNY's Dominican Studies Institute

The King Center the official Martin Luther King Jr. historical site; includes links to the King Papers Project, an extensive bibliography, and photographs

NAACP official site of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, the nation's oldest and largest civil rights organization

American Indians/Native Americans

American Indian and Alaska Native Resources data and links provided by the U.S. Census Bureau

Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America - Audio and video recordings of spoken languages as well as texts and other multimedia materials.

Bureau of Indian Affairs official site of the U.S. bureau responsible for the administration of federal programs for federally recognized tribes

National Congress of American Indians resources, policy, and news

National Indian Health Board news and information on health issues

National Museum of the American Indian current exhibits from this Smithsonian museum

Tribal Directory contact information and websites for federally recognized tribes from the U.S. Department of the Interior

Asian Americans

Asian & Pacific Islander American Vote national organization promoting civic participation

Council of Korean Americans

Japanese American Citizens League civil rights organization

Pacific Citizen online news for the Asian American community

The Rise of Asian Americans: Pew Research Center's study of Asian Americans

Latinx/Hispanics

HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies searchable bibliography of citations to scholarly publications about Latin America from the Library of Congress

LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center search or browse extensive collection of links to content about Latin America; provided by the University of Texas at Austin

Latinos in Twentieth Century California: National Register of Historic Places Context Statement published by CA State Parks Office of Historic Preservation, gives an overview of Latino nation building, religious and artistic life, economic contributions, and struggles for equality

LULAC official site of the League of United Latin American Citizens, the largest and oldest Hispanic organization in the United States

Pew Hispanic Center research studies, statistics, and public opinion polls on the U.S. Hispanic population