Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LS 400: Senior Capstone

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Kathlene Hanson
Contact:
Consultations by appointment
khanson@csumb.edu or 831.582.3883

Ask a Librarian

Research Help Desk:

  • Phone: (831) 582-3872
  • Text (831) 703-8105
  • ask@csumb.libanswers.com
  • Library Hours

LS 400 Course Guide

Welcome to the LS 400 Course Guide. The purpose of this guide is to briefly review available resources for your capstone research needs. Another page that can be useful is the Education Research Guide. I've inserted a few videos created by a colleague on using databases and getting resources we don't own in full text. Please feel free to contact me for an appointment or use Ask a Librarian if you have questions.

Articles & Databases

Articles & Databases

The databases linked below are called subject-specific databases because they cover content in the fields of education and psychology, respectively. Subject databases are useful to search when you are looking for more breadth or depth for a related topic than you find in OneSearch. If you are looking for scholarly literature and not finding what you need in a subject database, you might try Google Scholar. For a review of what is scholarly, please look at the page "Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals." The first video below also shows you how to limit to scholarly articles.

Please use Databases by Subject to find other relevant databases for your topic. The video below shows you how.

Finding Full Text for Citations

Finding a Book or Article You've Seen Cited

Sometimes you will find a citation in the reference list or bibliography of scholarly article or books while reading articles about your topic. If you want to see whether we own these articles or books, take a look at the video below.

Websites

Websites

The following is a selective list of web pages to associations or statistical information in the field of education.