Skip to Main Content

Archives & Special Collections

Learn about CSUMB Archives and Special Collecitions

Citing Archival Sources

When doing research for class, the citation format you use will depend on the style your instructor requires. It is important to take detailed notes during your research to ensure you have all the information necessary to correctly cite your resource. Keeping detailed notes will also help you locate the records again if you need to revisit them. 

Information Needed for Citations

When you find a record you want to cite, note the following pieces of information about the item:

  • title (many items do not have official titles, so you will need to create your own)
  • name of the individual or organization that created it
  • date it was created or published
  • name and number of the collection of which it is a part
  • box number and folder number in which it is located
  • name and location of the archives that owns it (in our case it would be: Archives and Special Collections, Tanimura and Antle Family Memorial Library, California State University, Monterey Bay, Marina, CA)

For more information on citing archival material:

Citation Guides

CSUMB Citation Resource
Resources for citation guidelines in arts, humanities, and social sciences fields.

Chicago Manual of Style Online
Online subscription version of the full Chicago Manual of Style.

MLA Style Center
Online summary of information in the MLA Handbook (8th edition). Does not include the full content of the print Handbook, but does include supplemental material, such as guidelines for formatting papers (which were dropped from the new edition)

Citing Film, Video, and Online Media (MLA Style)
Guide from UCB Media Center. Consult latest edition of the MLA handbook for any changes to formatting.

Audiovisual Citation Guidelines (British Universities Film & Video Council)
Examples of best practices for citing media materials, including clips, DVD extras, games, and more.