Environmental Science & Studies Research Guide

Highly Recommended

Recommended

Others Resources To Consider

Browse Selected Journals

Biological sciences journals available through the CSUMB Library

Find CSUMB journals by title

Enter title or ISSN here.

Find Articles using OneSearch

Books at the CSUMB Library 

OneSearch enables searches to discover books and videos in the CSUMB Library's collection.

Use these keywords/terms for lists of CSUMB Library holdings on:

environmental ethics

environmental justice

environmental policy

environmentalism and environmental movements

ecofeminism 

human and social ecology

biodiversity

endangered species

global warming and climate change

sustainability

CSUMB students, faculty and staff may use CSU+ Resource Sharing (a service integrated into OneSearch) for ordering books and media held at other CSUs and institutions.

Current CSUMB Students, Staff, and Faculty are welcome to check out Course Reserve items. For more information, click here.

Search our online encyclopedias

When beginning research on a topic, these resources can provide excellent overviews for subjects of interest.

Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America

Climate Change: In Context

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy

Encyclopedia of Sustainability

Environmental Encyclopedia

Environmental Issues: Essential Primary Sources

Environmental Justice: A Reference Handbook

MacMillan Encyclopedia of Energy

Pollution: A to Z

Renewable and Alternative Energy Resources: A Reference Handbook

Waste Management: A Reference Handbook

Water: Science and Issues

Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals

California and West Coast

CERES- California Environmental Resources Evaluation System

California Coastal Commission Publications a variety of web documents on coastal issues of regional relevance 

Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary a wealth of local information on aquatic and marine topics

Former Fort Ord Environmental Cleanup website 

California Natural Diversity Database from California Department of Fish and Game

California Department of Conservation

California Energy Commission Climate Change Partnerships

Center for Environmental Public Policy (CEPP) at UC Berkeley

California Climate Action at UC Berkeley Law School

California Environmental Protection Agency

West Coast Governors' Alliance on Ocean Health (WCGA) California, Oregon and Washington

National

Science.gov portal to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies

Congressional Research Service Reports

Resources for the Future issue papers

The Global Council for Science and the Environment (GCSE)

The Encyclopedia of Earth

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

ECOTOX Knowledgebase provides single chemical environmental toxicity data on aquatic and terrestrial species

Environmental Justice Resources (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)

U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information

USGS Ecosystems Mission Area

USGS Wetland and Aquatic Research Center

National Agricultural Library (U.S. Department of Agriculture)

Ocean Conservation (Pew Charitable Trusts) reports and analyses on marine resource management

Biodiversity Information Serving Our Nation (BISON) project is the foundation of Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) national data portal from USGS

International

International Directory Network from NASA's EarthData Open Access for Open Science

Biodiversity Heritage Library

CEE Database of Evidence Reviews (CEEDER)  from the Collaboration for Environmental Evidence

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change of the UN

United Nations Environment Programme

Online dictionaries and reference sources

StreamNet Fish Data for the Northwest

Encyclopedia Britannica Online has numerous brief articles on environmental topics

Environmental Studies portals

World Resources Institute, Resources Library from World Resources Institute

GRID Geneva online data graphs from the UN Environment Programme 

Science, Technology, Math from ThoughtCo