LibGuides: Public Policy Research Guide: Home

Articles & Databases

Recommended

Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Covers social sciences, business, humanities, and sciences
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Search for for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more on all areas of public concern and potential legislation
RAND California This link opens in a new window
Statistical information on California economic and public policy issues
Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work,sociology, and international relations
Annual Reviews Backfile
Authoritative scientific review articles synthesizing prior research.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Social and political issues.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Search for legal information, legal cases, and business information

Others to Consider

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to journals with full text of most articles.
CountryWatch
Information, data and news on all countries of the world.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Online resource that covers current social issues
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's search interface for finding information of an academic or scholarly nature, both on the web and in the library's collection.

Books

Books in the CSUMB Library

Use OneSearch to search for both print books and e-books on your topic.

Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library provides access to a range of different encyclopedias related to public policy.

Books At Other Libraries

CSUMB students, faculty and staff may use CSU+ Resource Sharing (a service integrated into OneSearch) for ordering books and media held at other CSUs and borrow books not available in the CSU.

Websites

California Public Policy Resources

California Research Bureau Reports

California Senate Office of Research

Institute of Governmental Studies (UC - Berkeley)

Legislative Analyst's Office (State of California)

Public Policy Institute of California

RAND California

Think Tanks and Research Institutes

Includes U.S.-based, non-profit, non-partisan, liberal, conservative, independent and affiliated organizations;

also consult World Directory of Think Tanks and The Global Go To Think Tanks Report.

American Enterprise Institute	Commonwealth Fund	Joint Center for Political & Economic Studies
Aspen Institute	Commonwealth Institute	Milken Institute
Atlantic Council	Council on Foreign Relations	National Bureau of Economic Research
Brookings Institution	Earth Institute	New America Foundation
California Budget & Policy Center (formerly California Budget Project)	East-West Center	Pacific Research Institute
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace	Economic Policy Institute	Pew Research Center
Cato Institute	Federation of American Scientists	Population Council
Center for American Progress	Foreign Policy Association	Population Reference Bureau
Center for Democracy & Technology	George C. Marshall Institute	Public Agenda Online
Center for Immigration Studies	Heritage Foundation	Public Citizen
Center for Law and Social Policy	Hoover Institution	RAND Institution
Center for Public Integrity	Hudson Institute	Reason Foundation
Center for Reproductive Rights	Human Rights Watch	Resources for the Future
Open Secrets (Center for Responsive Politics)	Institute for Policy Studies	Rural Policy Research Institute
Center for Strategic and International Studies	Institute for Women's Policy Research	Urban Institute
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities		Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

Public Policy Research Guide

Librarian Profile

Ask A Librarian

Articles & Databases

Books

Books in the CSUMB Library

Use OneSearch to search for both print books and e-books on your topic.

Encyclopedias

Books At Other Libraries

Books At Other Libraries

Websites

California Public Policy Resources

California Research Bureau Reports

California Senate Office of Research

Institute of Governmental Studies (UC - Berkeley)

Legislative Analyst's Office (State of California)

Public Policy Institute of California

RAND California

Think Tanks and Research Institutes

Includes U.S.-based, non-profit, non-partisan, liberal, conservative, independent and affiliated organizations;

also consult World Directory of Think Tanks and The Global Go To Think Tanks Report.

See Also