General
Serving Latino Communities: A How-to-do-it Manual for Librarians, Second Edition (How-to-Do-It Manual for Librarians) (How-to-Do-It Manual for Librarians) by Camila A. Alire and Jacqueline Ayala
From former presidents of REFORMA, this manual advocates for enhanced services to the expanding Latino community and offer strategies for successful outreach. Their chapter guides library staff in comprehending community needs, creating effective programs, securing funding, training staff for better engagement, forging partnerships with external entities, enhancing collection development, and executing impactful outreach and public relations initiatives.
Latinos in Libraries, Museums, and Archives: Cultural Competence in Action! An Asset-Based Approach by Patricia Montiel-Overall, Annabelle Villaescusa Nuñez, and Verónica Reyes-Escudero
Latinos in Libraries, Museums, and Archives illustrates the significance of cultural competence in the routine operations of libraries, archives, museums, and special collections serving Latino communities. Drawing on their expertise across various sectors such as academic, school, public libraries, health sciences, archives, and special collections, the authors emphasize the critical role of cultural competence in everyday communication, relationship development, and information dissemination to effectively engage with the Latinx population.
¡Bienvenidos! ¡Welcome!: A Handy Resource Guide for Marketing Your Library to Latinos by Susannah Mississippi Byrd
Byrd proposes methods for crafting a comprehensive marketing and outreach strategy aimed at diverse Latino audiences. This entails building a knowledge base about the local Hispanic community, understanding cultural nuances, developing collections that meet community needs, and designing programs and services aligned with their interests.
Library Service to Spanish Speaking Patrons: A Practical Guide by Sharon Moller
This book equips librarians with tools to effectively meet the needs of Spanish-speaking patrons across all age groups. The author delves into the background of diverse Hispanic groups, presenting a plethora of ideas for developing programs and collections tailored to this demographic. The book also includes a directory of distributors offering Spanish-language materials, encompassing books, periodicals, AV materials, and educational resources, along with web addresses of Spanish-language sites, along with vocabulary lists for library and computer-related terms, alongside guidelines for accurate Spanish word usage.
Diversity and Inclusion in Libraries: A Call to Action and Strategies for Success by Shannon D. Jones
This book is divided into three sections: Why Diversity and Inclusion Matter, Equipping Library Staff, and Voices from the Field. This book directly addresses these issues and will interest a wide audience concerned with diversity in libraries, including both professional librarians and paraprofessional staff. Through sharing best practices and insights, it guides libraries toward achieving greater inclusion.
Academic and School Libraries
Serving Hispanic, Latine, and Latinx Students in Academic Libraries, edited by Sommer Browning and M. Isabel Soto-Luna
This resource is comprised of essays written by library professionals showcasing practices, programs, and services in academic libraries tailored to support Latinx student communities. Topics covered include information literacy, special collections, collection management, critical pedagogy, and more.
Pathways to Progress: Issues and Advances in Latino Librarianship
This anthology focuses on public, school, and academic libraries, featuring insights from Latino library professionals who offer expert discourse on various library services for Latino patrons across the United States. This resource covers a range of topics including special collections, recruitment and mentoring, leadership, collection development, reference services for LGBTQ+ individuals, children's services, and serving special library populations.
Youth
Library Services to Youth of Hispanic Heritage by Barbara Immroth, Kathleen de la Peña McCook, and Catherine Jasper
Quality library services for young Hispanic individuals are essential, yet many librarians struggle to create and maintain programs and collections tailored to their needs. In a series of essays commissioned for the Trejo Foster Foundation for Hispanic Library Education Fourth National Institute, leaders in librarianship provide valuable insights into serving this demographic. Topics include programs, collections, and planning/evaluation.
Serving Latino Teens (Libraries Unlimited Professional Guides for Young Adult Librarians Series) by Salvador Avila
This book explores library services for Hispanic/Latino teens, focusing on best practices, responsive programs, and redefined approaches; includes discussion on the cultural, social, economic, psychological, and technological aspects of this growing demographic.
Collection development for Children’s and YA titles
Includes vocabulary, examples of read-alouds in Spanish, and Spanish language development resources
Includes fliers, collection tips for Spanish language resources, tips for creating Spanish language materials, programming ideas, and information on translation services
Spanish to English translation tool.
Spanish words with English translations focusing on library services, collections, common questions, and more.
These examples of brochures, flyers, and other general marketing materials in Spanish (or bilingual) have been created by REFORMA members who generously accepted to share them with others.
This area addresses library management issues in developing services and outreach for Spanish speakers. WebJunction's Spanish Language Outreach (SLO) Program delivered 440 workshops in 40 states across the country, training over 6,000 library staff. Here you will find workshop materials and related case studies.
Addresses how libraries can work to bring the library to diverse communities through outreach and partnership efforts at cultural events, through community-based organizations, or through local media.
Handout from Washington Library Association that includes marketing, advocacy, funding, evaluations, and other recommendations for serving Latinx/Spanish-speaking communities.