Research Help Desk:
Searching the Literature
Subject/Discipline-Specific Databases
There are a plethora of databases you can access through the CSUMB Library: https://csumb.edu/library/articles-databases/
From here, you can browse databases alphabetically or by subject!
For statistical sources, the CSUMB Library's statistical information webpage offers statistical sources on a range of topics, which include:
Interdisciplinary Databases
Selective Sources for Locating Data Sets
Social Science Data & Public Opinion Sources
Education Data Sets
Sports Data Sets
Miscellaneous Data Sets
What is the role of a literature review in research? What does it mean to 'review' the literature? Get the big picture of what to expect as part of the process through this video by the University of Houston Libraries
How to Read a Journal Article
Reading a journal article can feel daunting, but fear not! Here are some tips to help you succeed:
Use this webpage for more in-depth information on journal articles!
| Title | Offers clues to article’s main topic. |
| Author(s) | Describes who is responsible for this work. May be one person, a group, or an institution. Make note of authors and institutions you see repeatedly during your search process. |
| Keywords | Summarizes article contents and findings; may include methodology. |
| Abstract | Describe the content in quick words or phrases. Help you place the work in context with other literature. Good for quick reference! |
| Introduction | Summarizes the article’s main idea, thesis, or research question. Should answer the question, "Why this?" Includes background knowledge on the topic and provides information about research motivations, impact, or purpose. |
| Literature Review | Places the research in context with prior work. Analyzes important contributions that the author(s) believe are relevant and that the article builds upon to create new knowledge. Sometimes includes a theoretical framework. A good place to look to find additional sources for your research! |
| Methods (or Methodology) | An explanation of how and why the authors approached the examination of their question and the collection of data. May include information about the limitations of their chosen methodology. |
| Discussion | An examination of meaning and implications of the research for existing and future exploration. |
| Figures | Graphical representation of findings and other relevant information. Includes charts, graphs, maps, images, tables, etc. Look at figures during your initial scan to determine relevancy and quality. |
| Conclusion | A synthesis of the findings and importance of the research. |
Above is a chart created by Brown University that explains the various parts that make up a journal article. The original chart can be accessed through this link.
Citations
For APA citations consult the below guides to ensure you are citing your sources correctly.
Citation Generators & Managers
Citation generators can take the information you provide about a source and create a citation, but remember to check that the citation is correct. Below is a list of some commonly used citation generators and managers:
Fast
Others:
For more citation information, see this webpage and this Citation Managers LibGuide courtesy of the CSUMB Library.
