Skip to main content

Ethnic & Cultural Studies Research Guide

Articles and databases

Articles & Databases

Recommended

Video databases

Others to consider

Books At Other Libraries

Books At Other Libraries

Recommended:

CSU OneSearch to search library catalogs of the 23 California State University campuses.

Also consider:

WorldCat to search library catalogs from around the world

CSUMB students, faculty and staff may use CSU+ Resource Sharing (a service integrated into OneSearch) for ordering books and media held at other CSUs and the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan Request Form to borrow books not owned by CSU libraries.

Web resources

Web Resources

African Americans

Black Press USA news from African-American journalists and Black community publications

First Blacks in the Americas The African Presence in the Dominican Republic, including archival documents from CUNY's Dominican Studies Institute

The King Center the official Martin Luther King Jr. historical site; includes links to the King Papers Project, an extensive bibliography, and photographs

NAACP official site of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, the nation's oldest and largest civil rights organization

American Indians/Native Americans

American Indian and Alaska Native Resources data and links provided by the U.S. Census Bureau

Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America - Audio and video recordings of spoken languages as well as texts and other multimedia materials. 

Bureau of Indian Affairs official site of the U.S. bureau responsible for the administration of federal programs for federally recognized tribes

National Congress of American Indians resources, policy, and news

National Indian Health Board news and information on health issues

National Museum of the American Indian current exhibits from this Smithsonian museum

Tribal Directory contact information and websites for federally recognized tribes from the U.S. Department of the Interior

Asian Americans

Asian & Pacific Islander American Vote national organization promoting civic participation

Japanese American Citizens League civil rights organization

Pacific Citizen online news for the Asian American community

The Rise of Asian Americans: Pew Research Center's study of Asian Americans

Latinx/Hispanics

HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies searchable bibliography of citations to scholarly publications about Latin America from the Library of Congress

LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center search or browse extensive collection of links to content about Latin America; provided by the University of Texas at Austin

Latinos in Twentieth Century California: National Register of Historic Places Context Statement published by CA State Parks Office of Historic Preservation, gives an overview of Latino nation building, religious and artistic life, economic contributions, and struggles for equality

LULAC official site of the League of United Latin American Citizens, the largest and oldest Hispanic organization in the United States

Pew Hispanic Center research studies, statistics, and public opinion polls on the U.S. Hispanic population