LibGuides: Languages & Linguistics Research Guide: Home

Articles & databases

Communication Source
Includes journals that focus on language, as well as all aspects of communication and the media arts, including advertising, broadcasting, culture, design, film, journalism, marketing, political & social issues, technology, and more.
MLA International Bibliography
Language, linguistics, literature, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Search for books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Includes several top linguistics journals, as well as social sciences, business, humanities, and sciences.
Fuente Académica Plus
Multidisciplinary database of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes several top linguistics journals, in addition to life and physical sciences.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to journals with full text of most articles.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to journals with full text of most articles.
CountryWatch
Information, data and news on all countries of the world, including languages spoken.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education journals and various other types of education related sources, including the educational aspects of language.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's search interface for finding information of an academic or scholarly nature, both on the web and in the library's collection.
JSTOR
Scholarly journal articles at least one to five years old on a wide variety of academic topics, including some focusing on language.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to psychology journals and various other types of psychology-related sources, including the psychological aspects of language.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, including the sociological aspects of language.

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Over 68,000 videos covering a wide variety of subject areas
Indigenous Cinema
Films by indigenous directors, provided by the National Film Board of Canada
Swank Motion Pictures
Swank is a streaming video service through which we provide access to a limited collection of feature and documentary films.

Additional resources

Dictionaries at the CSUMB Library (print or online)

American Sign Language dictionaries

Japanese language dictionaries

Linguistics dictionaries and encyclopedias

Spanish language dictionaries

Free online dictionaries

American Sign Language Browser - This Michigan State University resource is a video dictionary of thousands of ASL signs

Lexicool- A collection of bilingual and multilingual dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary - a historical dictionary of the English language from the earliest times to the present day; shows not only the current meanings of words, but also traces their development through time.

Wordnik- This interactive English dictionary includes definitions, examples of use, photos, etymology, and more.

Encyclopedia of Linguistics (Strazny, 2013) - online

The Concise Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics (Chapelle, 2020) - online

Language and Communication: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia (Findlay, 1998) - print

Defense Language Institute eLearning - Provides a number of free online tools for learning language and cultural skills. All tools are free to the public, but some may require creating a free account.

DuoLingo - Practice Spanish, Japanese, Italian, and many other languages through games

GLOSS - Online language lessons developed by the Defense Language Institute. Reading and listening lessons based on authentic language materials in over 30 languages. (Note: this website can be difficult to load; if it doesn't come up immediately, try again later.)

Course Finders - Find language schools and language courses worldwide

Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America - Audio and video recordings of spoken languages as well as texts and other multimedia materials.

Center for Applied Linguistics - Nonprofit organization working to improve communication through better understanding of language and culture

Ethnologue - An encyclopedic reference work cataloging the world's known living languages; provided by SIL International

MLA Language Map - Map of languages spoken in the U.S.

Speech Accent Archive - Provided by George Mason University, this resource lets you compare accents of English speakers

Finding articles & books

Use OneSearch to look for books, articles, videos, and more.

Current CSUMB Students, Staff, and Faculty are welcome to check out Course Reserve items. For more information, click here.

To find a specific database, visit the Articles and Databases page.

OneSearch includes books from all 23 CSU campuses, as well as links to request them. Make sure you're signed into your library account to see the request link.

Additional information about interlibrary loan

Languages & Linguistics Research Guide

Librarian

Ask a Librarian

Articles & databases

Additional resources

Search in online subject encyclopedias

You may need to re-submit your search in the subject encyclopedia

Finding articles & books