Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WLC 300/400 Library Guide

Articles and databases

Articles & Databases

Choose the databases that best fit your topic for the best results. 

Spanish & Latin American literature

Highly recommended: 
Recommended:
Others to consider:

Spanish language & linguistics

Recommended:
Others to consider:

Japanese language & culture

Recommended: 
Others to consider: 

Japanese majors may also consult the list of library research guides to find the recommended databases for other disciplines.

Information in target language

Information in Japanese

CiNii is a database service that enables searching of information on academic articles published in academic society journals or university research bulletins, or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.

Search the OneSearch box for your topic. On the results page, expand the "language" drop down menu and select "Japanese." You may also want to check the "search beyond CSUMB Library" option.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO): Select Japanese under the language option.

Information in Spanish

Fuente Académica Plus: Scholarly journals and magazines from Latin America, Spain, and Portugal. 

Search the OneSearch box for your topic. On the results page, expand the "language" drop down menu and select "Spanish." You may also want to check the "search beyond CSUMB Library" option.

Google Scholar: Enter your search terms in Spanish

HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies: search extensive bibliography of citations to scholarly publications (in Spanish and English) about Latin America. Items may need to be requested via interlibrary loan.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO): Select Spanish under the language option.

JSTOR Retrospective Journal Collection: Select Spanish under the language option.

Books

Books in the CSUMB Library

Use OneSearch to look for books on your topic.

Background information & statistics

Background information & statistics

For credible statistics, news, and other information about the country of interest:

CountryWatch - information, data and news on all countries

CIA World Fact Book - Background information compiled by the CIA on all nations of the world

World Bank Open Data - Data about development in countries around the world

Also see statistics collected by the country's government:

Search all encyclopedias

Books At Other Libraries

Books At Other Libraries

Recommended:

CSU OneSearch to search library catalogs of the 23 California State University campuses.

Also consider:

WorldCat to search library catalogs from around the world

CSUMB students, faculty and staff may use CSU+ Resource Sharing (a service integrated into OneSearch) for ordering books and media held at other CSUs and the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan Request Form to borrow books not owned by CSU libraries.