Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geographic Information Systems Research Guide

Librarian

Profile Photo
Sarah Dahlen
she/her
Contact:
831-582-4432

Ask a Librarian

Research Help Desk:

  • Phone: (831) 582-3872
  • Text (831) 703-8105
  • ask@csumb.libanswers.com
  • Library Hours

Articles & databases

Articles & Databases

Highly Recommended: 

 

Recommended:

Provides access to the publications of the USGS and includes references to USGS reports and maps published from 1880 to date.

Additional resources

Monterey County Open Data

Central Coast Joint Data Committee: Links to open data portals for Central California

Data.gov: Open datasets from the U.S. Government, including maps and spatial data

Science.Gov: Portal for selected science information from U.S. Government agencies, including GIS datasets

USGS GIS Data: Spatial and geographic data

USDA Geospatial Data Gateway: Environmental and natural resources data

National Historical Geographic Information System: U.S. Census data tables and mapping files

Natural Earth: Public domain vector and raster map data, including physical and cultural geographic features

Big Ten Academic Alliance Geoportal: Access to GIS datasets and digitized historical maps

TopoView: Provides USGS topographic maps in a variety of formats. 

ArcGIS Online

Google Earth

QGIS: Free, open source, full-featured GIS software

Batchgeo: Free online service for geocoding spreadsheets

Finding articles & books

Use OneSearch to look for books, articles, videos, and more. 

To find a specific database, visit the Articles and Databases page. 

OneSearch includes books from all 23 CSU campuses, as well as links to request them. Make sure you're signed into your library account to see the request link. 

Additional information about interlibrary loan