Skip to main content

History Research Guide

Articles & Databases

Highly Recommended

Covers history in addition to anthropology, area studies, economics, education, geography, political science, sociology, statistics [also covers humanities]

Covers history and political science

     Recommended

U.S. and Canadian history

Index of peer-reviewed work in world history 

Humanities, including history

     Others to Consider

Useful for all topics

Useful for all topics

Indexes a large proportion of the scholarly literature in a wide range of research areas

Full page and article images from 1851-2003

 

Books

Books in the CSUMB Library

Use OneSearch to search for both print and ebooks books on your topic.

Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library provides access to a range of different encyclopedias related to computing.

Books At Other Libraries

Books At Other Libraries

CSUMB students, faculty and staff may use CSU+ Resource Sharing (a service integrated into OneSearch) for ordering books and media held at other CSUs and the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan Request Form to borrow books found using MOBAC regional catalogs, Melvyl, or WorldCat.

Websites

American history

AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History Includes links to primary documents organized in categories: 15th Century, 16th Century, 17th Century, 18th Century, 19th Century, Civil War, Reconstruction and Progressive Period, 20th Century, WWI, Interwar Period, WWII and Aftermath, Cold War, Vietnam, Mid-Late 70's, 80's and 90's; provided by Kendall Simmons, University of Kansas.

American Memory Offers over 80 diverse collections of digital materials, including American Indians of the Pacific Northwest, First-Person Narratives of California's Early Years, and Portraits of the Presidents and First Ladies; searchable by keyword or browseable by topic, Library of Congress Subject Heading, time or place; provided by the Library of Congress.

Calisphere Primary source items on the history and culture of California; searchable and browsable by subject or theme; provided by the University of California.

Discovering American Women's History Online Access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States; provided by Ken Middleton, Middle Tennessee State University.

 

World history

African Studies Internet Resources Extensive links about Africa categorized by region, country, organization, and topic; provided by Columbia University Libraries.

Best of History Websites Annotated links to history websites and sites for teaching history in K-12; provided by EdTechTeacher.org.

British History Online Core primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles; provided by the University of London and the History of Parliament Trust.

Eurodocs: Online Sources for European History Includes links to primary documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated; organized by country; provided by Richard Hacken, Brigham Young University.

Handbook of Latin American Studies Offers citations to scholarly publications in the social sciences and humanities; searchable by subject, author or title; provided by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.

Latin American Network Information Center Search or browse extensive collection of links about Latin America; provided by the University of Texas at Austin.

WWW-VL History Central Catalogue Includes extensive links organized in categories: Research, Eras and Epochs, Historical Topics, Countries and Regions; provided by European University Institute, Florence Italy.