Library has access to various publications/date ranges, mostly through Academic One File (Gale) and Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
ACM journals
Check to see if we have full-text access to individual journal titles though the library's List of Journal Titles
Computer Music Journal Full text available at Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Available from 1997, most recent 1 year(s) not available (this is typical of many online database subscriptions)
Organised Sound partial access through Cambridge website
Music Perception
Have access from 1983-2019 only through JSTOR at http://www.jstor.org/journal/musicperception
For full text of current issue and abstracts of recent issues http://mp.ucpress.edu/content/by/year
Springer Online
SpringerLink Journals (Scientific Journals)
Journal of the Acoustical Society of America
Only have access in print to full text up to No. 1, 2000
For current full-text content http://asa.scitation.org/toc/jas/current
Perspectives of New Music
For recent issues can view table of contents at http://www.perspectivesofnewmusic.org/ and then use Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Video Databases
See Also
Distinguishing scholarly journals from other periodicals
Video: How to Read a Scholarly Article A tutorial with good tips on how to more efficiently read a scholarly article. Brought to you by Western Libraries.
CSUMB students, faculty and staff may use CSU+ Resource Sharing (a service integrated into OneSearch) for ordering books and media held at other CSUs and institutions.
Recording Technology
Association for Recorded Sound Collections (ARSC) - "A nonprofit organization dedicated to the preservation and study of sound recordings, in all genres of music and speech, in all formats, and from all periods. ARSC is unique in bringing together private individuals and institutional professionals—everyone with a serious interest in recorded sound."
Audio Engineering Society - The Audio Engineering Society is the only professional society devoted exclusively to audio technology. Website includes events, AES publications, job board, student competition opportunities and more.
Electronic Musician - an online recording magazine that covers all aspects of music production—performance, recording and technology, from studio to stage.
Google Patents - Enables users to search through various patents related to music technology
Producers & Engineers Wing (National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences) - "the Producers & Engineers Wing is comprised of more than 5,500 producers, engineers, remixers, manufacturers, technologists, and other related music recording industry professionals."
Recorded Sound Reference Center (Library of Congress American Memories Collection) - "the Recorded Sound Reference Center provides access to the commercial and archival audio holdings of the Library of Congress...The collection dates from 1926 when Victor Records donated over 400 discs to the Library's Music Division to supplement its print and manuscript holdings... the collection has grown to include over 2 million items encompassing audio formats from cylinders to CDs." (from website).
Contemporary Music
Library of Congress: Music, Theater, Dance: An Illustrated Guide - The Library of Congress Music Division has a large collection of popular music from the Americas and Europe
Center for Popular Music - The Center for Popular Music at Middle Tennessee State University is one of the world's oldest and largest research centers devoted to the study of American folk and popular music
The Hip Hop Users Guide (Cornell University) - Contains helpful tips, and suggested print and electronic resources about hip hop, divided into ten different categories
Vocal Music
Musicians Way: For Singers - resources for singers, choral directors, opera lovers, and voice teachers
Musicians Way: Wellness - self-care, occupational health, and injury prevention for musicians
Your Accompanist Singer's Resources - free MP3 files of scales and warmups
Guitar
Music Theory Flashcards: Guitar Note Names
Music Theory Flashcards: Reading Guitar Notes
Guitar World - website for Guitar World magazine offers broad-ranging interviews that cover technique, instruments and lifestyles as well as Guitar World’s instructional lessons.
The Museum of Musical Instruments - This site focuses on virtual collections of guitars, mandolins, and musicians of the last two centuries, with photographs, audio files, and beautiful exhibits
Theory and composition
Good Ear - A simple ear training tool. Contains aural exercises on identifying intervals, chords, scales, and cadences
Introduction to Reading Music - Learn about notes, clefs, rests, counting, time signatures, and more through these short, easy-to-follow lessons
Musicards - A collection of highly-customizable online music theory flashcards. These music flashcards can be used by beginning music students who are becoming acquainted with key music rudiments, as well as those who wish to fill in gaps or increase fluency with existing knowledge
Music Theory and History Online - Created by the Dolmetsch Foundation. A series of short, basic lessons covering music theory
Musictheory.net- A collection of music theory tutorials
Teoria-Music Theory Web - An excellent resource created Jose Rodriguez Alvira, Professor at the Conservatory of Music, Puerto Rico for his courses. Contains tutorials, exercises and helpful reference material, as well as articles about music and analysis
Music business/industry
AFM - American Federation of Musicians is "the largest organization in the world representing the interests of professional musicians. Whether negotiating fair agreements, protecting ownership of recorded music, securing benefits such as health care and pension, or lobbying our legislators."
ASCAP - The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a membership association of U.S. composers, songwriters, lyricists, and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP protects the rights of its members by licensing and distributing royalties for the non-dramatic public performances of their copyrighted works.
BMI - BMI is the bridge between songwriters and the businesses and organizations that want to play their music publicly. Operating on a non-profit-making basis, BMI is now the largest music rights organization in the U.S.
California Lawyers for the Arts - Non-profit bar association providing artists and arts organizations with access to legal and business information, offering a referral service
SESAC - SESAC, Inc is a performing rights organization with headquarters in Nashville and offices in New York, Los Angeles, Atlanta, Miami and London. SESAC represents songwriters and publishers and their right to be compensated for having their music performed in public
General Sources
8notes.com Free Sheet Music - Contains sheet music for individual instruments and instrument groups, as well as lessons, chord charts, and other resources
Sheet Music Consortium - The Sheet Music Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting. Harvested metadata about sheet music in participating collections is hosted by the UCLA Digital Library Program.
Classical Music (search by composer or title of composition)
Musopen - A non-profit focused on improving access and exposure to music by creating free resources and educational materials. Provide recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions. View their sheet music.
IMSLP (International Music Score Library Project) - A project for the creation of a virtual library of public domain music scores based on the wiki principle. Users can exchange musical ideas through the site, submit their own compositions, or listen to other people's compositions.
American music
Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music - Contains more than 47,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright thanks to the Library of Congress. It includes popular songs, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books, instructional materials and music for bands and orchestra
Jazz
8notes.com Free Jazz Sheet Music - Contains Sheet music, lessons, chord charts and resources for Jazz
MusicStudents.com/jazz - Provides free sheet music in several genres with matching play along sound files. Includes Jazz and Blues
Choral Music
Choral Public Library - Free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information
Shazamio's Music - Available both here on Shazamio's website and YouTube channel is printable sheet music of current popular songs in PDF format
MuseScore - Has a section that is dedicated for arranging popular songs of the 20th and 21st century on brass, woodwind, and keyboard instruments
OnlinePianist.com - Has online piano tutorials. Big collection of free piano lessons. The site includes free piano sheet music and notes, piano chords table, lyrics and hundreds of piano songs. Has classical sheet music as well
Miscellaneous
8notes.com - Free sheet music, Categories include Classical, Pop & Rock, Jazz, Film & TV, World, Wedding, Christmas, Traditional, Funeral, Children's Christmas and New Music, The main focus of the site is sheet music, but the site also offers a wide range of resources for musicians, from tuners, to chord charts, to lessons.
MusicStudents.com - Provides free sheet music in several genres with matching play along sound files. Includes Classical, Traditional, Jazz, Blues and Exercises
Scorser - A search engine created for musicians to search through hundreds of web sites for scores, sheet music, tags, back tracks, audio files, lyrics and more. The site is created in Russia, so it may not contain access to music protected by copyright law in the United States
