Recommended
Video Databases
See Also
Distinguishing scholarly journals from other periodicals
Video: How to Read a Scholarly Article A tutorial with good tips on how to more efficiently read a scholarly article. Brought to you by Western Libraries.
Use OneSearch to look for books on your topic.
Click on the links below for a partial list of books and videos at CSUMB on:
Epistemology/Theory of Knowledge - Epistemology is the branch of philosophy concerned with the nature and scope of knowledge and is also referred to as ‘theory of knowledge’
Ontology - Ontology is the philosophical study of the nature of being, becoming, existence, or reality
Current CSUMB Students, Staff, and Faculty are welcome to check out Course Reserve items.For more information, click here. |
|||||||||||||||
Or browse the library shelves for relevant books
Call numbers and corresponding subject collections:
| Philosophy/Ethics | Religion | |
| B Philosophy (General) | BL Religions. Mythology. Rationalism | |
| BC Logic | BM Judaism | |
| BD Speculative philosophy | BP Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy, etc. | |
| BH Aesthetics | BR Christianity | |
| BJ Ethics | BQ Buddhism | |
| BS The Bible | ||
| BX Christian Denominations |
CSUMB students, faculty and staff may use CSU+ Resource Sharing (a service integrated into OneSearch) for ordering books and media held at other CSUs and institutions.
Philosophy
American Philosophical Association - The American Philosophical Society, the oldest learned society in the United States, supports research and discovery of scholars and offers a research library of manuscripts and other collections including access to their digital collections as well as subject guides and bibliographies.
Internet Archive - Philosophy - Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, websites, and more.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy IEP General editors and over 20 area editors gather articles by qualified authors. Includes e-mail addresses of authors.
Memrise - Philosophy - Offers short, interactive video resources on a variety of philosophical topics.
Philosophy Pages For the Western Philosophical tradition, including a dictionary, a history, and a timeline.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Contains nearly 1600 entries online. From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field.
Ethics
Ethics in America - Annenberg Learner video series that teaches moral reasoning by examining ethical dilemmas.
Ethics in America II - Part two of the Annenberg Learner video series.
On Being - An NPR conversation led by Krista Tippett on religion, meaning, ethics, and ideas.
Religion
ARDA (Association of Religion Data Archives) - Free, easy to use resource that compiles information about religion and many other social topics from the census and other sources
Atla Websites on Religion (WOR) LibGuides - an annotated collection of web resources for the study of religion
BBC: Religions - Excellent resource for information on a large variety of religions
Internet Sacred Texts Archive - Free archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language
Islam and Islamic Studies Resources - Hosted by a University of Georgia professor of religion, a resource on "Islam and the Diverse Perspectives of Muslims." Has links to videos, articles, books, and other sources. Its contents provide "a comprehensive scholarly approach to understanding Islam in the twentieth century"
Patheos - Content is designed to engage users in the global dialogue about religion and spirituality and to explore and experience the world's beliefs
Pew Research Center: Religion & Public Life - Contains current research and analysis focused on religion and how it impacts issues in public life and trends in the world
Religion Facts - Information on a large variety of religions
Religion Online - Religion Online is designed to assist teachers, scholars and general "seekers" who are interested in exploring major world religion issues. An extensive library of resources, representing many different points of view, but all written from the perspective of sound scholarship
Virtual Religion Index - A digital index of concepts, names, events, etc. associated with individual religious backgrounds and belief systems
