Articles and Databases
Peer-reviewed articles in the social sciences (also covers humanities and sciences)
Peer-reviewed articles in political science and history
Social and political issues
Anthropology, archaeology, area studies, economics, education, geography, history, political science, sociology, statistics
Political science, public policy, social issues
Statistical information on California economic and public policy issues
Anthropology, area studies, criminal justice, cultural studies, economics, geography, international relations, political science, public policy, social work, sociology
Review articles synthesizing the literature of political science; does not include the last five years
Broadly interdisciplinary coverage of journals
U.S. and Canadian history
Information, data and news on all countries
Viewpoint articles and topic overviews on social issues
Indexes a large proportion of the scholarly literature in a wide range of research areas
Gale Virtual Reference Library provides access to a range of different encyclopedias related to computing.
Foreign Affairs Online - Includes categories: General Reference, Map Resources, Media, US Government, Foreign States, UN, NGOs and IGOs, International Law, Human Rights, International Relations, Think Tanks, and Digital Divide; provided by Robert J. Beck.
Government in Latin America - Includes categories: Government, Human Rights, Law & Justice, Military, and Political Science; many sites are not in English; provided by Latin American Network Information Center, University of Texas.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) - Provides a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction; for information about access and use, CSUMB students, faculty and staff should contact the campus ICPSR representative, Dr. Jennifer Dyer-Seymour (SBS); provided by the University of Michigan.
Pew Research Center for the People and the Press - Summaries of results from an independent public opinion research group that studies attitudes toward the press, politics, and public policy issues; provided by the Center.
PollingReport.com - Nonpartisan site which reports poll data on topics of national, political, economic, and sociocultural interest; sources include: Gallup, Harris, CNN, CBS/NYT, and NBC/WSJ; provided by The Polling Report, Inc.
Project Vote Smart - Tracks more than 40,000 current elected officials and candidates; includes voting records, issues and background information, campaign finances and performance evaluations; zip code access to listings of state and federal representatives; provided by Project Vote Smart.
Public Policy Institute of California - Private, nonprofit organization which sponsors research on major economic, social and political issues affecting the state; includes the full text of published reports; provided by the Institute.
Stateline.org - Includes comparative information on the public policies of all 50 states, searchable by state or by issue (e.g., healthcare or election reform); contains current and archived news and background information about the states and their governments; provided the Pew Center on the States.
California Ballot Propositions - Lists and summarizes all California Ballot Propositions from 1884 to present and whether the proposition passed or failed. Provided by the Los Angeles County Law Library.
Legal Information Institute - Includes categories: Law About..., Constitutions and Codes, Court Opinions, and Law by Source or Jurisdiction; provided by Cornell University Law School.
Legislative Counsel of California - Official site for California legislative information; includes text of California Codes and text, status, analysis, and votes for Assembly and Senate bills; provided by the Legislative Counsel.
Nolo Law Centers - Includes Nolo's Legal Encyclopedia and Nolo?s Law Dictionary. Provides answers to legal questions in plain English. Provided by Nolo Press.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics - Includes data from more than 100 sources about all aspects of criminal justice in the U.S.; presented in over 600 tables available in Adobe Acrobat format; provided by the University of Albany and the U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics.