LibGuides: Biology Research Guide: Home

Articles & Databases

Highly Recommended

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Life science and biomedical research literature.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers life and physical sciences
SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window
Search for peer-reviewed journals in life and physical sciences
Wiley Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals in a variety of disciplines in both the hard and social sciences
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for journals that cover medicine, physiology, and human biology.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Comprehensive coverage of agriculture and the environmental sciences.

Others Resources To Consider

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to journals with full text of most articles.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to journals with full text of most articles.
Annual Reviews Backfile
Authoritative scientific review articles synthesizing prior research.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's search interface for finding information of an academic or scholarly nature, both on the web and in the library's collection.
JSTOR
Scholarly journal articles at least one to five years old on a wide variety of academic topics.

Browse Selected Journals

Biological sciences journals available through the CSUMB Library

Find CSUMB journals by title

Enter title or ISSN here.

Find Articles using OneSearch

Books

Books at the CSUMB Library

OneSearch enables searches to discover books and videos in the CSUMB Library's collection.

Use these keywords/terms for lists of CSUMB Library holdings on:

biology and natural history

botany and plant science

vertebrate zoology

invertebrate zoology

bacteriology and microbiology

ecology and biodiversity

fish and fisheries

anatomy and physiology

genetics

Books At Other Libraries

CSU OneSearch
Search for books at any of the 23 CSU campus libraries.
MOBAC Monterey Bay Regional Library Catalogs
Search for books at other libraries in the Monterey Bay region.
Worldcat
Search over two billion items from more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.

CSUMB students, faculty and staff may use CSU+ Resource Sharing (a service integrated into OneSearch) for ordering books and media held at other CSUs and institutions.

Current CSUMB Students, Staff, and Faculty are welcome to check out Course Reserve items. For more information, click here.