Skip to Main Content

Celebrating Pride 🏳️‍🌈

CSUMB library celebrates all identities and sexual orientation. This guide contains valuable resources and information.

LGBTQ+ Archival Exhibit

LGBTQ+ Archival Display 

Pride Archival Display is Coming Soon 

Location: CSUMB Library First Floor 

The month of June is designed to acknowledge and recognize the hardships and accomplishments within the LGBTQ+ community. The United States celebrates Pride during the month of June because in 1969 at the Stonewall Inn, a gay bar, in the Village of Greenwich, New York, LGBTQ+ individuals fought against police brutality, harassment, hate crimes, and demanded fair and equal treatment. Hence, it is important to continue to acknowledge, recognize and remember the experiences of LGBTQ+ individuals not only within a single month but throughout the year.

CSUMB library recognizes, understands, and celebrates the lives and experiences of folks within the LGBTQ+ community. Thus, we will be exhibiting various primary sources that highlight different aspects of the LGBTQ+ movement. 

The sources that will compose the exhibit come from the following archival collections: 

  1. Matt Friday and Bruce Carlson Papers: Collection includes material documenting the LGBTQ+ communities’ efforts within Monterey County and the Bay area. 
  2. Demeter Newspaper and Ephemera: The collection consists of the newspapers that brought to light articles and poetry regarding sexuality, race, gender equality, sexism, gay rights etc. 
  3. Parents, Family, and Friends, of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG): The primary sources within the collection document PFLAG’s efforts to support and advocate for individuals/families within the LGBTQ+ community.

Collections Information   

                                                            

Manuscripts: Matt Friday and Bruce Carlson Papers                                          Manuscripts: Demeter Newspaper and Ephemera 

Manuscripts #: 06                                                                                                Manuscripts #: 03 

Years: 1991-2011                                                                                                  Years: 1979-1985 

Language: English                                                                                                 Language: English 

Manuscripts: Parents, Family, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays

Manuscripts #: 05 

Years: 1990-2012

Language: English 

Access: If you would like to look through the physical collections please reach out to the Archival Department: archives@csumb.edu

Curated by: 

Illiana Zambrano 

Research and Instruction Librarian

🌈Exhibición LGBTQ+ 

Exhibición va llegar pronto 

Localización: En la Biblioteca de CSUMB en el Primer piso 

El mes de Junio está diseñado para reconocer las dificultades y los logros dentro de la comunidad LGBTQ+. Estados Unidos celebra el Orgullo durante el mes de junio porque en 1969 en el Stonewall Inn, un bar gay, en el Village de Greenwich, Nueva York, las personas LGBTQ+ lucharon contra la brutalidad policial, el acoso, los crímenes de odio y exigieron un trato justo y equitativo.

Es importante continuar reconociendo y recordando las experiencias de las personas LGBTQ+ porque sus historias generalmente se borran, se malinterpretan o se vuelven invisibles. Creamos exhibiciones para visibilizar historias que han sido olvidadas.

La biblioteca de CSUMB reconoce, comprende y celebra las vidas y experiencias de las personas dentro de la comunidad LGBTQ+. Por lo tanto, estaremos exhibiendo varias fuentes primarias que destacan diferentes aspectos del movimiento LGBTQ+.

Las fuentes que compondrán la exposición proceden de los siguientes fondos de archivo:

  1. Papeles de Matt Friday and Bruce Carlson: La colección incluye material que documenta los esfuerzos de la comunidad LGBTQ+ dentro del condado de Monterey y el área de la Bahía.
  2. Periódico Demeter y Ephemera: La colección está formada por los periódicos que sacaron a la luz artículos y poesía sobre sexualidad, raza, igualdad de género, sexismo, derechos de los homosexuales, etc.
  3. Padres, Familiares y Amigos de Lesbianas y Gays (PFLAG): Las fuentes principales dentro de la colección documentan los esfuerzos de PFLAG para apoyar y defender a las personas/familias dentro de la comunidad LGBTQ+.

Información de la Colección

Manuscrito: Documentos de Matt Friday y Bruce Carlson                                                Manuscrito: Periódico Demeter y Ephemera

Manuscrito #: 06                                                                                                                 Manuscrito #: 03 

Años: 1991-2011                                                                                                                    Años: 1979-1985

Idioma: Inglés                                                                                                                        Idioma: Inglés   

Manuscrito: PFLAG 

Manuscrito #: 05

Años: 1990-2012

Idioma: Inglés

Acceso: Si desea ver las colecciones físicas, comuníquese con el Departamento de Archivos:  archives@csumb.edu

Comisariada por:

Illiana Zambrano 

 

Archival Display

Additional Pride Archival Collections

Pride Collections and Exhibits 🏳️‍🌈

California State University, Monterey Bay: Digital Collections 

  1. Monterey County LGBT History 

  2. Oral Histories: LGBTQ Community of Monterey County Project

Additional Collections & Exhibits: 

  1. Australian Lesbian and Gay Archives (Melbourne, Australia) 

  2. Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives (Toronto, Canada) 

  3. Chris Gonzalez Library & Archives (Indianapolis, Indiana) 

  4. IHLIA LGBT Heritage (Amsterdam, Netherlands) 

  5. Leslie-Lohman Museum (New York, New York) 

  6. Library of Congress: LGBTQIA+ (Washington, D.C.) 

  7. National Museum of American History (Washington, D.C.) 

  8. Online Archives of California 

  9. Schwules Museum (Berlin, Germany)  

  10. Stonewall National Museum & Archives: Traveling Exhibit (Fort, Lauderdale, Florida) 

  11. The GLBT Historical Society Museum (San Francisco, California)