Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry Research Guide

Librarian Profile

Profile Photo
Jeff Corrigan
He/Him/His
Contact:
California State University Monterey Bay
100 Campus Center
Seaside, CA 93955

Ask a Librarian

Research Help Desk:

  • Spring 2023 Hours:
    • Sundays: 2PM-8PM
    • Mondays: 9AM-8PM
    • Tuesdays: 9AM-8PM
    • Wednesdays: 9AM-8PM
    • Thursdays: 9AM-8PM
    • Fridays: 9AM-4PM
  • Email
  • Chat
  • Text: (831) 703-8105
  • Phone: (831) 582-3872

Articles & Databases

Recommended

Others Resources To Consider

Browse Selected Journals

Chemistry journals available through the CSUMB Library

Find CSUMB chemistry journals by title

Enter title or ISSN here.

Find Articles using OneSearch

Books

Books at the CSUMB Library 

OneSearch enables searches to discover chemistry books in the CSUMB Library's collection.
Use these keywords/terms for lists of CSUMB Library holdings on:

chemistry

biochemistry

physical chemistry

organic chemistry

inorganic chemistry

analytical chemistry

Books At Other Libraries

CSUMB students, faculty and staff may use CSU+ Resource Sharing (a service integrated into OneSearch) for ordering books and media held at other CSUs and the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan Request Form to borrow books found using MOBAC regional catalogs or WorldCat.

Search our online and print encyclopedias

When beginning research on a topic, these resources can provide excellent overviews for subjects of interest.

McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology (Available from other CSU Libraries)

ProQuest Encyclopedia of Nonlinear Science

Gale Encyclopedia of Science

Exercise, Sport, and Bioanalytical Chemistry: Principles and Practice

Water: Science and Issues

Chemistry: Foundations and Applications

Websites

American Chemical Society (ACS)

Royal Society of Chemistry 

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds

Science.gov (selected science information from U.S. government agencies)

PubChem (open chemistry database at the National Library of Medicine)

CheMagic (virtual model toolkit for molecular visualization)

ACS Green Chemistry Institute (resources for green and sustainable chemistry and engeering)

ACToR (toxicity data from the EPA on more than 500,000 chemicals)

IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology (the Gold Book)