Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Marine Science Research Guide

Librarian Profile

Profile Photo
Jeff Corrigan
He/Him/His
Contact:
California State University Monterey Bay
100 Campus Center
Seaside, CA 93955

Ask a Librarian

Research Help Desk:

  • Spring 2023 Hours:
    • Sundays: 2PM-8PM
    • Mondays: 9AM-8PM
    • Tuesdays: 9AM-8PM
    • Wednesdays: 9AM-8PM
    • Thursdays: 9AM-8PM
    • Fridays: 9AM-4PM
  • Email
  • Chat
  • Text: (831) 703-8105
  • Phone: (831) 582-3872

Articles & Databases

Highly Recommended

Recommended

Others Resources To Consider

Browse Selected Journals

Selected Marine Science journals available through the CSUMB Library

Find CSUMB journals by title

Enter title or ISSN here.

Find Articles using OneSearch

Books

Books at the CSUMB Library 

OneSearch enables searches to discover books and videos in the CSUMB Library's collection.
Use these keywords/terms for lists of CSUMB Library holdings on:

benthos/deep-sea

coastal zone

estuaries

fish and fisheries

marine ecology

marine geology

marine resources

oceanography

Books At Other Libraries

CSUMB students, faculty and staff may use CSU+ Resource Sharing (a service integrated into OneSearch) for ordering books and media held at other CSUs and the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan Request Form to borrow books found using MOBAC regional catalogs or WorldCat.

Search our online encyclopedias

When beginning research on a topic, these resources can provide excellent overviews for subjects of interest.

Encyclopedia of Global Warming & Climate Change
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals
Gale Encyclopedia of Science
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Seas and Waterways of the World
Water: Science and Issues

Websites

Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary a wealth of local information on aquatic and marine topics

SIMoN Sanctuary Integrated Monitoring Network information by habitat or type of organism

Deep-Sea Guide from Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute

California Explores the Ocean from Scripps Institution of Oceanography

California's Marine Species Information Portal from the CA Department of Fish and Wildlife

Fish Bulletin report series from CA Department of Fish and Game

Central and Northern California Ocean Observing System (CenCOOS) 

Partnership for Interdisciplinary Studies of Coastal Oceans (PISCO) California, Oregon and Washington

Stanford's Center for Ocean Solutions 

Pew Ocean Conservation

National Marine Protected Areas Center NOAA

NOAA Central Library 

USGS Wetland and Aquatic Research Center

FishBase detailed species information

Census of Marine Life NOAA

MarineBio portal

Encyclopedia of Life

Biodiversity Heritage Library

Science.gov Portal to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government Agencies

Endangered Species List U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service