Skip to Main Content

Markets Research Guide

Overviews

Fitch Consumer & Retail Reports

  • In search box, add your country to pre-existing terms
  • Provides data on consumer spending, demographics, and retail trends
  • From the library's ABI/INFORM Collection database

Demographics

QuickFacts

Fast and easy search tool from the U.S. Census Bureau

Explore Census Data‚Äč

  • Key gateway to U.S. Census Bureau data

-

Point and click map access to census data

Business Librarian Stephen Fadel demonstrates how to use the Maps feature in data.census.gov to gather demographic data by county and zip code.

Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile Web                    2020-2021

  • Online source of current data
  • CAUTION—much information is loosely cited (e.g., no date, no title). If you plan to use data and source has an incomplete citation, try to retrieve missing information by visiting cited source. 

Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research                Handbook 2020-2021

  • Latest ebook edition
  • Provides hospitality data from a range of sources
  • CAUTION—much information is loosely cited (e.g., no date, no title). If you plan to use data and source has an incomplete citation, try to retrieve missing information by visiting cited source. 

Esri TapestryEsri Tapestry logo

  • Free website
  • Market segmentation profiles by zip code 

Technology Use

ApptopiaApptopia homepage

  • Fee-based website that provides some free app reports and other information.

ComscoreComscore homepage

  • Commercial website that provides some free information on media platforms.

Insider Intelligence: eMarketer

  • Fee-based service
  • To access selection of free data, limit search results to the Content Type: Articles 

Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile Web                    2020-2021

  • Online source of current data
  • CAUTION—much information is loosely cited (e.g., no date, no title). If you plan to use data and source has an incomplete citation, try to retrieve missing information by visiting cited source. 

Spending

Census Business Builder

  • Census tract, zip code, city, county, and state profiles
  • Includes consumer expenditures

Consumer Expenditure SurveyConsumer Expenditure homepage

  • Leading government survey on consumer expenses
  • Overseen by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

Best CustomersBest Customers cover page

  • Two-page consumer profiles by product/service
  • Over 300 categories